Skip to main content

About the Sigvard Eklund Prize

In order to support nuclear research and education at the country's universities, the nuclear industry association, SKC, Swedish Nuclear Technology Centre, established Sigvard Eklund price of SEK 50 000 for the best doctoral thesis, SEK 35 000 for the best master's thesis and 25 000 for the best thesis on kandidast / Bachelor level.
The 2019 call will soon be published here.

Sigvard Eklund, 1911-2000, a nuclear physicist, was Director of Research at AB Atomenergi 1950-61 and led the effort to build Sweden's first research reactor (R1). Between 1961-81, he was Director General of the International Nuclear Energy Agency, IAEA, in Vienna and had a leading role in international efforts to utilize nuclear energy for peaceful purposes.

Read more about Sigvard Eklund

Belongs to: SKC
Last changed: Jan 16, 2019